Birth Lottery

That noon at McD Sudirman ~

Hanif: You have Dutch blood, don’t you? How Dutch?
Me: Neehh, not much. It’s my great- I don’t know, great-grandpa I think.
Hanif: So you’re… *counting in mumble* 1/8 Dutch then. See, it’s in your browny eyes.
Me: And my skin tone too.
Hanif: What about your Mom? Javanese?
Me: Well, she has Arabic blood. My great-grandma is. That’s why my nose is, well, not that pointed sih, but not bad lah.
Hanif: *cry* Argh, dammit, my skin, my eyes, my nose.. I’m ugly! *sob*

Leave a Reply

